A GIFT FROM A TELEPHONE SOLICITOR

I just got a gift from a telephone solicitor. No, it wasn’t a new gizmo, or $25 off something or having someone shampoo half of my carpet.

It is something much more valuable than that.

Here’s what happened…

A few minutes ago I stopped what I was doing to answer the phone. The man on the phone asked for me by name. I can always detect a telephone solicitor; so, I said, “Yes, this is she” but through my hesitation, I knew that he knew that I knew what direction this call was going.

He politely told me that his arborist was going to be in my neighborhood in the next few days and he wanted to know if he should stop by so he could give me a free quote on any tree trimming or removal that I might need. (How did he know I have LOTS of tree work that needs to be done!)

I returned his politeness with an equally polite, “No, thank you” and then we both hung up.

Within seconds of setting the phone down, my mind jumped right into the tongue lashing it thought he deserved. Yes, he was polite. Yes, his call was legal. Yes, he accepted no for an answer. Yes, I know he needs to make a living.

BUT! WHAT MAKES YOU THINK THAT WHAT YOU NEED IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN WHAT I’M DOING RIGHT NOW! WHY DO YOU THINK IT’S OK TO INTERRUPT ME?

Oooooooppps! Yes, I could have been in the middle of writing one of my very sincere and very loving blog posts about creating inner peace so we can have a more peaceful planet. Or I could have been writing a post for my fitness blog that will help people stay motivated to be their best physical self.

Yes EGO, I know you’re there and I hear you. But, can we please respond a little differently next time?

Take a breath and start again.

What was that I was saying a few days ago about creating peace as flawed individuals? Oh, yes, it’s all ok.

Tags: ,

7 responses to “A GIFT FROM A TELEPHONE SOLICITOR”

  1. Steve Lakey says :

    A nice little lesson for us all.

  2. Kozo says :

    I love the self-introspection here, Lea. I would add a little self-compassion. haha. I have this same feeling everyday, but what I am finding is that by reading, writing, and commenting on blogs about peace, these ego-eruptions are becoming fewer in number. Thank you for the reminder. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  3. ShimonZ says :

    Yes, I suppose we’re over exposed to advertising and a lot of helpful offers, so I can understand your resentment about this uninvited ‘guest’. But it is inspiring to hear of your re-examination of the experience immediately after. I hope that you’ll have some true guests who will brighten your days, and bring you a smile or a deep thought here and there.

    • leazengage says :

      Thanks so much for your understanding and kind words. Life is filled with lots of wonderful guests along with lots of lessons. I welcome them all. All the best to you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Shoulder Shrug of Forgiveness | The Green Study - February 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

